We like to eat then tell you all about it!

Quick Banana Bread with Almonds

In Baking At Home, Breads on 8 October 2013 at 10:09 pm

20131008-220241.jpg

Out of the blue I decided I wanted banana bread and just went for it. I found a recipe that asked for only a few ingredients and very little of my time. When it comes to baking the one thing I detest is dealing with flour. I know it is the foundational, no, core ingredient when baking traditional cakes and breads but uuugghhhh! My time seems to get lost in some vortex when dealing with flour. Here is the recipe.

20131008-215535.jpg BamolaBananaBread
These beauties took less than an hour to bake up and I am ecstatic about that. I think because I divided the mix into two pans that greatly reduced the time to 42 minutes in the oven at 350°F.

When I bake I ALWAYS make a taster for myself so I know what to expect from the rest of the batch. The bread seems alright though I probably needed to do the following things:

1. Use 3 ripe bananas instead of two ripe and one not ready
2. Because of that 3rd not ready banana, I did need a full cup of sugar and not the 2/3 I used
3. Don’t over mash the bananas because all the stirring of the other ingredients and flour will break them down for me.

Finally, I am super happy that I included pecans and cinnamon. I was kinda offended that this recipes called for ZERO cinnamon and I rectified that travesty on the spot! I did NOT put a full teaspoon of baking soda in. I think I’m sensitive to baking soda because I can taste it when someone dumps a ton into their baking. The less the better in my book!

So there you go. Quickest banana bread I’ve ever made in my life. It does not compare to the one I bake and sell here in town but I am always willing to try something new and new I did.

If you try it, let me know. I’m curious as to what the taste buds of others say about food.

Also, thanks for allowing me to post SUPER HUGE images of my bread. Good ol iPad mini does big pix!

20131008-220842.jpg

Leave a Reply

