We like to eat then tell you all about it!

Mixed Berry Shortcake Recipe!

In Cake, Dessert, Fruit, Recipe on 22 October 2009 at 12:47 am

Mixed Berry Shortcake

I LOVE desserts. I do admit it. No shame! I have a sweet tooth and it is one that I am attempting to calm down but…mmm sugar. I can’t fully explain it but I like small, personal sized cakes. Going to a bakery at the end of the week to choose an assortment to take home is a thrill I like to replicate as often as possible. I don’t mind making small treasures like the one above either so it is something I shall continue to do until I can do it no more.

After posting the previous post, I decided that I should list this as a recipe unto itself because others may be looking for something easy to make and might not want to wade through my sob-fest just to locate the simple ingredients to make the dish. Am I right???

I initially made this because I wanted my dad to enjoy something nice that wouldn’t shoot up his blood sugar. This is, of course, before I took the time to learn about the Glycemic Index and the entire issues of Type 2 Diabetes. I figure the fruit couldn’t hurt nor the other stuff I chose to use. I can’t tell you if this is okay to give your mom, your dad, your family at the holidays or whatever because I don’t know the exact sugar content. I am just saying this was my attempt to do SOMETHING for myself and for my dad.

Mixed Berry Shortcake:

1 package pre-made shortcake sponge cup thingys. I think 6 came in the package.

1 box Jell-o Vanilla Pudding mix. This is good stuff isn’t it?

An assortment of fresh berries– blueberries, blackberries, strawberries and raspberries were used on my dessert

This was so simple, so easy to make! I pre-made the Jell-o pudding mix just as it said on the box. After it had a chance to chill, I got the shortcake thingys (what are those called anyway??) and first topped the indentation with pudding then arranged the berries to my liking. Now that I think about it a little powdered sugar would have went nicely for a visual effect.

If you do make your own, please let me know! Leave a LINK! I’d like to see your creativity and even find out how your friends and loved ones like it. I’ll attempt to list this in a Recipes section of my blog. Thanks for coming by!

  1. Thanks. I just ended my diet. You are to blame. Solely.

  2. I am glad I was able to help you end such a tragic streak in your life. After consuming this dessert you will be forever grateful to me for saving your arse from self-made tyranny. (^__^)

Leave a Reply

